Tags

I think one of the best feelings in the world is when someone remembers something you said. Whether it was something from yesterday, a week ago, a month ago… it’s just like, “Wow, you actually listen to me.”

On January 11, I watched Ice Age 3: Dawn of the Dinosaurs for the first time. I immediately connected with Buck and claimed him as my favorite character. I posted a pic of him on Facebook, along with the words: “This guy is my favorite. I don’t know what he is, but he’s awesome. I’d hang with him any day.” Three people liked it, and then promptly forgot about it, I’m sure.

On January 26, two weeks and one day later, I attended a birthday party of one of, well, somebody I would consider a good friend (in comparison to the others, on average he is probably one of my closer friends). After most of the people had gone, me, him, and three others sat down to watch RocketMan. After the movie we talked a bit, and I don’t know how, but Ice Age came up. The others said that they didn’t like the third one very well. I said I liked it a lot because Buck is awesome. Then my friend (the one whose birthday we were celebrating) looked right at me with kind of a weird smile and said, “You’d hang out with him, huh?”

That was probably one of the only times he’s ever actually said something that referenced to something I’d said, but he has hinted in other ways. And it always kind of gives me a happy glow, just knowing that somebody pays attention to what I say. I guess it’s one of those weird human nature things, feeling like you’re being appreciated.

