Tags

I do music because I can just pick up my guitar and sing, and completely satisfy, instant gratification. I don’t need a script, I don’t need people, I don’t need anything, cameras, I just have myself and my guitar or keyboard.” ~ Jeremy Renner

Music is beautiful that way. It touches you in its own way, and it means something different to everyone who listens, even if it’s the same song. Sometimes you’re listening just because you like the beat or the sound of the song. Sometimes you’re listening for the lyrics, because you know they can touch you in mysterious ways.

God loves music. That’s one thing I know. He created music and He loves to hear us praise Him with it. I don’t know if there’s any better way to show God how much you love and appreciate Him.

That’s one reason I love to play guitar. I can just pick it up, on some days, and play a song that will totally sweep me away into another realm. On other days I play just for the fun of it, because it sounds good (usually) and makes me happy (and kills time).

But what is music about, really? Why does listening to it make us feel so good, and make such an impact on our current mood?

Here’s my answer: I don’t know. I have no idea why music hits us so hard. It can’t really be explained. It’s a part of everyone’s life, maybe the one thing everybody has in common. Everybody enjoys music in their own way, for their own reasons. Maybe that’s why the music industry is so popular, because it might be the only thing able to bring us together.

And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” ~ Friedrich Nietzsche

