Tags

, , ,

Today I was texting a friend of mine about last night’s small group discussion about the temptation of Jesus. We discussed it for awhile, then my friend said, “There are some girls, even in our small group, that I’m pretty sure are headed to hell at this point.” I cannot even begin to tell you how much that terrified me. Girls from MY youth group, even one in my own small group, headed to hell? Immediately I wanted to ditch school (I was texting in class. Yes. Shame on me) and call each one up, meet up with them, talk to them, but I had no idea about what. I just knew that I had to save them somehow.

But I guess that’s one thing about it. I didn’t know what I could do to help them, except pray. And that doesn’t feel right either. We do, in fact, need to be “on top of our game,” as my friend put it. I don’t feel on top of my game. I don’t even know what I could talk to them about.

As Christians, we NEED to be ready when the Devil tries to tempt us. We NEED to stand firm in our faith, and encourage those around us to do the same. We need to be there to build one another up as well, to help each other when we fall.

One thing we talked about last night was the issue of being “churched.” So many of us Christians have grown up in the church and often times we’re not even sure why we believe what we believe. And so many times someone from church might ask us about the sermon or whatever and we’ll say, “It was a nice reminder.” But it’s not supposed to be a REMINDER. This is what we live by. This is our lifeline.

We need to get on the ball. The end is near. I’ll probably bring both temptation and end times up again, because I’ll be hearing a lot about it on Saturdays and such, and because it’s MAJORLY important. I’ll leave you with this passage, 1 Peter 4:7-8.

The end of all things is near. Therefore be clear-minded and self-controlled so that you can pray. Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.

