Tags

,

Roar is like an epic description of how I feel. When Caleb starts it off, his voice is so soft and full of tenderness. Alan’s voice leads so perfectly into Joey’s prechorus, which he obviously loves. Then Cabe sings the chorus so purely that something in me melts. But the fun in the oh’s puts an inescapable quality into it.

I love how Chad’s voice blends perfectly with Alan and Joey’s. And I love that he watches them when they’re harmonizing, like there’s a real connection and magic in their music. Then when Cabe leads on the second chorus, I can just feel the fierceness in his voice. I love it! And when Chad sings Eye of the Tiger ~ ohhhhh! It’s perfection. And then Caleb says “I got the eye of the tiger!” and there’s no doubt that he DOES. His background parts ~ he puts his heart and soul into that music. And they end it with the same softness they started it with.

This song is just pure solid art on a soundtrack and it gives me goosebumps (even if they’re just under the skin). I can’t get over it. I can’t imagine anyone singing like they do. I have heard the original version as well as covers by Royal Tailor and other artists, and they weren’t nearly as good. And when they sing, I can just feel that no matter what the lyrics are, they’re singing to God ~ the MUSIC is to God ~ and it gives me a feeling I can’t explain.

All fangirling besides, Roar is a song of a silent person’s vengeance on those who underestimated, misunderstood, and took advantage of them, which is exactly why I relate so easily to it. It starts out speaking about the singer’s past habits of insecurity and their attempts at not making anything worse than it was. This person didn’t want to take sides and didn’t want to speak up about their opinions and beliefs. In a way, their individuality decreased, or at least the evidence of it did. They forgot that they have their own thoughts and ideas, and that it’s okay to have them. They let people push them beyond what they should have been asked to tolerate, all in the name of not fighting back. They had nothing to stand for and no desire to have anything to stand for, so I think maybe they suffered of gullibility.

In the pre-chorus, the singer begins to find the will to fight back. Seeing as this is a secular song, I know that this is probably not the reason, but I like to think that the singer found hope in Jesus. For whatever reason, they realize that they have been dishonored, disrespected, and degraded. They build their character, and their assaulters begin to realize that something is changing. They hear the “thunder” of the once-silent singer’s newfound identity.

The chorus speaks volumes of the singer’s new confidence and security. They’re saying, “That’s it, I’ve had it. You can’t just toss me aside or take advantage of me anymore, because I know my worth, and you’re going to see what I can do. I’ve been patient and tolerant, and I’m just not going to do that anymore. I’m not going to let you take advantage of me anymore.” The second verse tells us about the change that has come about in the singer’s life. They have worked hard on gaining respect and identity, and their life has changed drastically for the better.

The addition of Eye of the Tiger to the song was a good move on Anthem Lights’ part, not only because they fit so well together musically, but because they fit as a story as well. Eye of the Tiger is not only sung by a band by Survivor ~ it is also an anthem from the point of view of a survivor. Now our singer is telling other people the name of the game. This is what it is, this is how it feels, and this is what it takes.

My favorite part of the song is when Caleb sings “Can you hear me?” in the final chorus. It’s like a dare, but so gloriously sung. It’s amazing how many different feelings can be packed into just four words. I can hear the joy and fun that he’s having as he sings it, as well as the defiance of the song. It’s like he’s saying, this is me. This is who I am. You treated me wrongly once, but just look. NOW do you see?

The singer’s story is an inspiration to any who listens. We all know that one can hear a song without really listening to it, which is a subject I’ll get to in a different post. And Anthem Lights delivers it with power and feeling. What more can one want?

