Tags

,

“People think that being alone makes you lonely, but I don’t think that’s true. Being surrounded by the wrong people is the loneliest thing in the world.” ~ Kim Culbertson

I think that in some ways, friendship is a lot like Pokemon. There are so many species and types out there and it’s so exciting to go out and meet them all and experience what it’s like being around so many different ones, but if you’re an Electrike and you find another Electrike, something just clicks and it feels right and you have more fun than ever and there’s just nothing better than that feeling.

It seems to me that if someone really matters to you, you should always make time for them. No excuses, no lies, no broken promises.

Soul mates? I think they exist, just not always romantically. I think there are certain people you will meet in your life who you just connect with more than anyone else, and you just know it’s not a typical thing ~ you understand each other perfectly. This person won’t always be your “significant other.” I mean, it could be your friend or sibling or parent or teacher or the person you’re dating or whoever. It could be just about anyone you’ve ever interacted with. And let me tell you from personal experience ~ it is honestly the greatest feeling in the world. This one person comes along and they just seem to understand everything about you, and it’s not so much a click as a mind-melding. At least, that’s how it was in my experience.

People complicate friendship way too much. Or perhaps they over-simplify it. It seems like anybody you meet is your friend, regardless of whether you hang out now and then, talk often, or even know each other. But it seems like “friendship” has the tendency of dissolving without you noticing sometimes, and if it does that, I don’t think it qualifies. It seems like too often it’s such a loose concept, more given to acquaintances than actual friends, but that doesn’t make it at all worth it. And going that way, how do you even know you’re friends? Shouldn’t that word actually mean something? Shouldn’t it imply a certain amount of loyalty and trust and knowledge and acceptance of the other? I hate falling into friendship for that very reason ~ you don’t even know if it’s real. I prefer to make it, even if it’s tough and scary and risky, because that seems to be the only way to make it stick. Don’t just write it on paper, guys ~ chisel it in stone.

BONUS: ADDITIONAL ADVICE ON BEING A GOOD COMPANION

One of the things I hate more than anything is when you get all excited about something you really love, the person you’re talking to doesn’t even pretend to care, and you just feel bad for being pumped about something. I don’t understand why people can’t just accept that you like something that they aren’t really into without making you feel stupid. Like, I was watching Jonas on YouTube today and my sister came in and was like, “JONAS?” in this critical voice, like it was the stupidest show on earth and nobody in their right mind would watch it in their free time unless they were being forced to. But personally, I don’t mind Jonas. It’s not my favorite show by far, but it’s a lot better than a lot of the shows on Disney Channel today, and I was looking for something to watch that didn’t include too much of a heavy plot because I didn’t feel like trying to keep up with something deeper than the ocean floor.

But that’s not the point. The point is, I had to actively force myself to ignore the comment to avoid feeling stupid. I don’t think anyone should have to do that, especially towards a person close to you. You shouldn’t have to hide the things you like from your friends or family, because they should be the ones to accept you for who you are, even if they don’t personally share those feelings. What you should say is this: “What are you watching? Jonas? Cool. It’s not what I would choose to watch, but hey, if you like it, I’ll give it a shot.” You don’t even have to do that. You could just not say anything at all. Like my mom always used to tell us: “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”

How many times does the Bible tell us not to judge? (I actually have no idea. In fact, if you happen to have some time on your hands, feel free to look it up and tell me. I would like to know.) We don’t ever need to judge our friends, because part of being friends is accepting the other person for who they are and loving them for it, and not making them feel bad for something they like, because that is a part of them, and it helps make them the amazing, unique person that you love. God will judge everyone Himself at the Final Judgment (hence the name), and He will judge them justly. But personally, I don’t think He has a problem with anyone liking any specific TV show, because He likes His people to be happy. (Just make sure it doesn’t run your life.)

