Tags

, , , ,

I found this book thrilling (which kind of surprised me since it wasn’t fantasy and nothing blew up and there weren’t any weapons at all) and I read it in less than four hours, which I rarely do. I got into it and I was unwilling to withdraw because I simply found it fascinating. I think most of the reason why is because of my inclination to feel things, as well as my love of music.

I loved a lot of things about this book. I loved the letters that Tripp and Lyla wrote to each other. I loved the pretty words in it. I loved the description of the music, the way Tripp and Lyla saw things, and the way they felt things. (One thing I didn’t love was Lyla’s best friend. She was a jerk.) I loved the concept of a cellist who didn’t love what she did because it didn’t feel right. I loved the guitarist who played because of the connection he had with the music and how it made him feel to play it. I loved the passion in it.

-“Here’s my Thrum Theory. I think every soul vibrates at a certain frequency. It’s sort of like each soul has a sound that is its signature ~ and your soul just wants to feel the vibrations of this sound. I think the vibrations of my soul and the vibrations of the guitar match each other, which is why it feels so right for me to play it.“-

Tripp’s Thrum Theory is so cool. I love the idea of everything having its own vibration. I have done some research on sound and frequency and things like that (because I hope to become a recording engineer and those things are very important to know in that career). I love the idea that Tripp can feel which crayon is happy in a box of 64. That is probably my favorite thing out of this entire book. I love it when people can feel things that nobody else can ~ psychics, kinetics, having special powers (even if they’re too tiny to save the world with ~ for instance, my sister’s hands tingle when she touches batteries) are crazy awesome in my book. The way different people feel things differently is a real fascination of mine. Sometimes, when I see someone who really, REALLY loves Jesus, there’s a special light in their eyes that is absent in everyone else’s.

-“Maybe it explains the reason why one person likes another. It’s because their souls thrum at the same frequency.“-

BREAKTHROUGH ALERT! I think Lyla’s really on to something here! Some people you just “click” with. Some you “mind-meld” with. Some you “vybe” with. Some you just can’t stand, not because of how they act or anything, but because you just feel a sort of rift between you that makes you feel a little bit like you do when you hear fingernails scraping on a chalkboard. You just can’t seem to get on their wavelength ~ maybe because you’re not on the same frequency. But with others, you’re ALWAYS on the same wavelength. Everything they do makes sense, even if they’re different than you. You could be polar opposites, but you work together perfectly (something we see in basically every movie ever created ~ Sherlock and John, Pete and Myka, Legolas and Gimli, Merlin and Arthur, etc. etc.). What’s the same is the wavelength your soul is on. You just seem to go together. This, I LOVE. This is where soul mates come from.

They are leaning in toward each other, knees almost touching, the smile between them as intense as a flame. “To resonance,” he says, and they tap their pencils as if they are glasses of champagne.-

