Tags

If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s someone getting their hands on information they’re not ready for. Information is always misinterpreted out of context.-

This book was really interesting, and it was a fascinating thing to read because it was written very differently. It wasn’t your typical novel, with a main character where you see a specific portion of their life of their life playing out as it’s happening. Instead, you got to read it like a transcript from an interrogation room. That’s literally what it was ~ a fifteen-year-old kid getting interrogated by the police. And you were there, listening from behind the two-way mirror, as he told his fascinating tale.

Whenever I read books, I’m kind of in the Doctor Who mindset: first thing I try to figure out is the where and the when. A lot of the time, that information isn’t overly clear. When I started this book, at first I thought it was a futuristic type thing, in some era that I will probably never live to see. Then I started wrestling down the timezone to just slightly futuristic, and then modern. The reason I thought it took place in the future is because of all the technology. This book was entirely based on technology ~ it was from the point of view of a gang of geeks, after all. But what brought me back to modern times was the references to modern things. There weren’t any hovercars floating around, the kids rode skateboards and bikes just like we do, and the computers didn’t talk to you or have superior artificial intelligence like they do in all the sci-fi movies. So this is a modern book, though I forget exactly where it took place because I have since moved on to another book.

But anyway.

It really was quite fascinatingly written because it was an interrogation, and there were transcripts and computer passwords and files and police and things like that happening. When I picked up this book from the library, I had no idea what it was going to be about. There was no description or summary on the back or in the front (it was hardcover with no dust jacket), and even the cover wasn’t overly revealing. But I glanced inside (as I always do to make sure the font isn’t totally revolting) and I saw different fonts and an uncommon style and pages with passwords and my interest was instantly aroused. I could have gotten the whole series right there, but I’ve done that before and I’ve learned to just get the first book until you decide whether it’s worth reading the rest. And since you’re probably wondering right now, yes, I would be interested in finishing the series.

It’s always a little bit difficult to relate to the main character when he’s a supersmart computer whiz, but I found myself connecting with Adam Henderson (first because his name is Henderson and I know someone with that name) through his early solitude, his realization of this foreign emotion called “loneliness” (which was not hit upon much in the book, but it was enough), and his almost immediate falling in with these three other kids (which never actually happens in real life). He also had an astounding amount of information and knowledge at his fingertips, which I can never help but admire.

One thing I enjoyed was towards the end of the book, Adam realized that the Trackers’ weaknesses and their strengths complimented each other and made them a truly unbeatable team. A lot of the time the team was skeptical of Finn’s lightheartedness and how that would tend to make him not so responsible, but Lewis countered that with his tendency of knowing all the risks and all the factors going into the mission. Emily was completely focused, but it sometimes made her critical, and Lewis was occasionally paranoid ~ and Finn’s laid-back nature took the edge off that. Finn was the only one of the group that was NOT a genius with mechanics or technology of any kind, which really kept the group grounded in reality. Even though Finn’s usefulness may have seemed a little lacking sometimes, he was still vital to the group for keeping the atmosphere lighthearted. You know how dangerous it can be if everyone in a group is entirely too focused on something.

I honestly don’t have any quotes from the book except the one I posted above and this one I’m posting at the end of this blog post. As interesting as it was, this book wasn’t overly pretty. Which is okay ~ it makes up for that with its interesting-ness. So I don’t have any quotes to talk about to make this blog post longer. But this one I’m putting below, I just want to say ~ this is my life. Literally.

Peace out.

The Vault had robbed me of any desire to fit in and make friends. But watching all these kids in their groups of three or five or ten, I started to feel something I hadn’t felt before. Something about walking the halls, day after day, not talking to anyone ~ I guess it changed me.

For the first time in my life, I was lonely.-

