Tags

The easiest lies to tell are the ones you want to be true.

What bothers me the most is when you pick up a book, and it’s called White Cat, and there aren’t any white cats in it. No cats whatsoever. Or if it mentions a dragon in the title, and there isn’t one. That really bothers me. Especially if there’s not even an emblem or a sign or a tiny charm shaped like a dragon. That is so annoying. It seems really misleading to expect a dragon, and not get one. And I am always excited to see a dragon, so it’s even more frustrating.

But luckily, this book wasn’t like that. This book actually DID have a white cat in it. She was kind of the main character besides the main character. She was the point of the whole story. She was the victim.

But she wasn’t a cat. Not really.

Okay, she WAS a cat. But she wasn’t before. She was turned into a cat. And she seemed really annoyed by it, which didn’t make sense to me. I think it would be AWESOME to be turned into a cat. I spend a good 12% of my time wishing I was a cat (an argument can be made for 15).

But let’s move beyond my odd fantasies.

I found this book really interesting, of course, because there was magic in it. But they didn’t consider it magic. People had the power to kill, to transform, to steal memories, to break bones, all with just a touch of the finger, and they called it a curse. I agree that having that power is too much power for a person to have ~ that’s why God didn’t make us with it. But it’s not a curse. It doesn’t have to be. It’s magic. It just depends on how you use it.

This is going to be a lot shorter than I realized because I only have, like, one quote that I’m going to talk about. But I guess that’s okay. It was a good book. Go read it. There. My job is done. On to the quote!

Once someone’s hurt you, it’s harder to relax around them, harder to think of them as safe to love. But it doesn’t stop you from wanting them. Sometimes I actually think it makes the wanting worse.-

Some people like risk and danger, so I guess someone who might hurt them would be attractive to them, because they’re not “safe to love.” Maybe that’s why the world’s so screwed up with relationships breaking off and divorces and abuse and all that. Maybe there’s more people who like that uncertainty than I realized. I never quite understood why a woman would stay with an abusive husband, why she would tolerate being struck and yelled at every day. I still don’t really get it. But maybe this quote clarifies something for you.

I can’t trust the people I care about not to hurt me. And I’m not sure I can trust myself not to hurt them, either.

Friendships suck.-

