Tags

, ,

-“It might be well enough to wander if you’ve got a place and people to come back to, but I tell you now there’s no desolation like wanting to go home and truly not knowing where it is.”-

This book was BEAUTIFUL, and I have a LOAD of quotes to share with y’all. I remember the book pretty well from start to finish, which is something because a lot of the time I get so caught up in a story that I read it in a couple days or a matter of hours and at the end I just blink like, “What just happened?” But this time I can actually tell you about the book.

Lanen Kaelar (or Hadronsdatter, or Maransdatter) grew up on a horse breeding farm. When her stepfather Hadron died, she inherited the farm, but instead of taking on that responsibility, she decided to take a “vacation” and live out her lifelong dream ~ going to the Dragon Isle to seek out and befriend Dragons.

Naturally the adventure was wrought with danger ~ it wouldn’t be a good story if it wasn’t. When she got to the island, she did find a dragon, and amazingly enough he was as interested to learn from her as she was to learn from him. They forged a friendship, and after awhile, something crazy happened.

They fell in love.

Seriously. I am not making this up.

You’re probably wondering how a human can fall in love with a dragon, but I think the underlying message was that you can fall in love with anyone, despite their appearance.

A lot of stuff happened, stuff that included dark secrets and thievery and demons and sacrifices and debates and deception, but you’ll have to read the book to know about that stuff. (I can’t give EVERYTHING away. Spoilers.)

-“I don’t remember her being a great beauty when I first saw her, but that never seemed to matter. She was ~ she looked ~ ah, there’s no words for it. She was so alive, that was what you saw, and beside her the others were candles to the sun.”-

I don’t know how, but somehow this book managed to cram in all the necessary information that COULD have broken it up into a duology, but didn’t, which was nice. I honestly don’t know how the author fit so much backstory and plot and conclusion into only around 340 pages.

Anyway, this quote came when Jamie was telling Lanen his story. It was her mother that he spoke of. Isn’t it fantastic when you meet someone, and…well, it’s exactly like that Doctor Who quote says: “You know when sometimes you meet someone so beautiful and then you actually talk to them and five minutes later they’re as dull as a brick? Then there’s other people, when you meet them you think, ‘Not bad. They’re okay.’ And then you get to know them and…their face just sort of becomes them. Like their personality’s written all over it. And they just turn into something so beautiful.”

It seems like most of this book was focused largely on personality over appearance. Neither Lanen nor her mother were beautiful by appearances, but their kindness and sense of adventure overpowered that so it didn’t matter anymore.

-“The long and the short of it is, she left me for him that very day, with barely a word after three years.” Jamie’s voice grew softer, just for a moment. “I would have laid down my life to keep her from harm, and she ran to it as fast as she could go.”-

I don’t know if anything hurts more than when you give your all to someone, like you would be there for them through thick and thin and do anything for them, and then they just abandon you. The one thing you would never do to them, they do to you without a second thought.

-“If you have forgotten, I haven’t. I may be fool enough to take up with a dark soul like Marik, but while I live you are the man I care most about in the world.”-

Maran was as surprised by the words that came out of her mouth as Jamie was, but it didn’t stop the fact that they were true. Marik had used a magical amulet on her to make her attracted to him, and she had overheard him promising his firstborn child to a demon. Jamie offered to kill him, but Maran loved Jamie enough that she couldn’t allow him to return to his dark past because she knew it would hurt him.

It takes a lot of guts to admit to them how much you care about someone ~ and to yourself ~ but it’s good for both of you to hear it. Sometimes I think that girls ~ and maybe guys, too ~ run to someone else because they realized how much they care about somebody, and they’re afraid of those feelings and that that person doesn’t share them. Rejection is one of mankind’s most common fears.

I had thought all this time that being a wanderer on my own meant being alone, and the idea had seemed so sweet. Now I saw with eyes grown older by two weeks of traveling with the one I loved. It felt like years. I would miss him terribly.-

The idea of traveling alone through unfamiliar wilderness is enticing refreshing, because of the thoughts you think you’d have and the discoveries you would make and the beauty you would witness. But every year my mother, my sister, my best friend, and I go on a backpacking trip for a few days, and so as one who knows what it’s like to journey through wilderness, I can tell you that there are not many things that are better than traveling with people you care about. It brings you closer, being out in the middle of nowhere together. It’s really quite fun! (If you don’t mind blisters and cold nights and camp food!)

-“But I have enjoyed this day with you. You have been a true challenge. I have no idea what you might mean when you say anything, so I spend my time trying to hear what you do not say. With practice I might be good at it.”-

It’s kind of sick when you think of who’s involved in this quote, but if you haven’t read the book and you just look at the quote, it’s pretty lovely. Those are the best people, when you have to work to hear the meaning beneath what they’re saying. It’s the best mystery, and the only one worth solving. (Doctor Who reference alert!)

The giving of a name is with us the greatest act of trust. Only father, mother, and mate know the true name, or perhaps one true friend of the heart; but the name gives power to whoever calls it.-

Whenever dragons are in a book, I find them easier to understand than the humans, and I usually relate to them better. They are more majestic and more beautiful in mind than we are.

This concept of the power of a name is one of those beautiful things. Words have a lot of power when used correctly, and the idea that a certain collection of letters could belong to you and you alone, and that you share them with only a few, is truly brilliant. I think we should have something like that, that is sacred to us enough that you don’t share it with anyone except the very truest of companions. Maybe we should choose names, like the Time Lords. “The name you choose, it’s like a promise you make.”

Never cruel or cowardly. Never give up, never give in.

I saw Lanen’s hand move towards my face, tentatively. “I permit, Lanen,” I said quietly. “Touch me. Know that I am real. That I feel as you do.”-

Touch is a power that I feel like a lot of people misuse, misunderstand, or take advantage of. When I touch someone, because I do it so rarely, I feel lightning course through my veins, leaving my fingers tingling. I feel the warmth of their skin as something so beautiful. Think about it. There’s a HEARTBEAT underneath! And you know that they’re real, not just part of your imagination, and it gives you perspective that they feel joy and pain just like you do, except a little bit differently, which is fascinating. It’s like that with every creature you touch, and sometimes with every thing as well. And yet people shake hands and slap each other on the back and fistpound like it’s nothing, which is cause to endless astonishment to me.

-“Why do you give it worth? Creatures have worth, their deeds, their words, their thoughts or the work of their hands have worth, but metal? It is senseless.”-

Thank you, Akhor, for speaking exactly what I have always thought. Gold and silver are nothing except shiny material. They can’t think or feel like humans can, and they have so little potential besides looking pretty. Humans are so much more than that. Shall I begin to sing the Circle of Life like the Doctor did to prove my point? So why then do we so often value money more than fellowman?

Lanen laughed, making light of his words, but I knew well that he meant them with all his heart. I was grateful for his honesty. I was beginning to learn that it was a rare gift among many people.-

Near the end of the book, things got pretty weird, not gonna lie. Jamie had just threatened Varien if he should hurt Lanen in any way (as any father would). But it’s true what Varien said about honesty. It’s not often you’ll find someone who is truly honest, but it’s a gift you shouldn’t take lightly.

“You called me brother,” I said quietly. “That is not a word used often or lightly among my Kindred.”

“Or mine,” she said. None of the awe was gone from her, but even those few moments spent in my company had made her bolder. “I called you that because that is how I thought of you,” she said. “Even more now than before.”-

