Tags

-You don’t forget the face of the person who was your last hope.-

Yeah, so I finally read the Hunger Games. I’m glad I didn’t read it before the movie came out, or I probably never would have watched the movie. It’s sometimes easier to watch the movie first so you have a clearer picture in your mind of the characters and what’s going on.

I say I probably never would have watched the movie because it’s probably true. This book was…eh. It wasn’t anything special, not to me anyway. There was an awful lot of killing, which I was okay with. But it wasn’t an overly pretty book, and the characters didn’t have anything special that took my attention or made me relate to them at all, really. So I’m going to be one of the few who says this:

I didn’t really like this book.

And the movie was better. But only just.

-I fumble. I’m not as smooth with words as Peeta. And while I was talking, the idea of actually losing Peeta hit me again and I realized how much I didn’t want him to die. And it’s not about the sponsors. And it’s not about what will happen back home. And it’s not just that I don’t want to be alone. It’s him. I do not want to lose the boy with the bread.-

Sometimes the simplest parts of a person is what you love about them. One time Peeta gave Katniss a loaf of bread for her family because it was obvious they were starving. That was the one thing Katniss remembered about him and what endeared him to her. Sure, being in an arena full of other people trying to kill you would probably make you feel as lonely as ever, and you would hardly be eager to go back to that feeling after you’ve finally found an ally. And yeah, winning this thing would give her family a bit of compensation so they aren’t as badly off. But when it came right down to it, Katniss forgot all of that. They had been through heck together and had saved each other’s lives, and that SERIOUSLY does something to a relationship. She simply didn’t want to lose him.

-A kind Peeta Mellark is far more dangerous to me than an unkind one. Kind people have a way of working their way inside me and rooting there.-

This is a true thing. Nice people are harder to let go, because how can you repay kindness with rejection and not feel guilty? (The answer to that is awfully well-contained emotion.) It’s easier to repay meanness with meanness. And it’s dangerous to let a person’s kindness touch you deeply enough that you feel you trust them to protect you and yourself. You have to be incredibly cautious when trusting someone with information about yourself, because someday that person might leave you, and with them go your secrets.

My father was particularly fond of mockingjays. When we went hunting, he would whistle or sing complicated songs to them and, after a polite pause, they’d always sing back. Not everyone is treated with such respect. But whenever my father sang, all the birds in the area would fall silent and listen. His voice was that beautiful, high and clear and so filled with life it made you want to laugh and cry at the same time.-

