Tags

,

-“It’s those who are overlooked by the folk around them that you want to watch. They see more than they tell, and they think more than they talk. You want them for your friend. You don’t want them asking questions about you.”-

Is Tamora Pierce a famous author? Like, did she write something spectacular? It seems like I’ve seen her name before. Should I know who she is? Because I don’t. I just liked the title of this particular book, so I picked it up. I like tricks. Unfortunately, though, the main character, Aly, was not nearly as tricky as I hoped. Her cleverness left something to be desired.

This book was not pretty, so I haven’t got any quotes to share with y’all (assuming of course that somebody out there actually occasionally reads my posts). I was hoping for more detail into things like lockpicking and pickpocketing and spying, but sadly I was left wanting.

I think it says plenty that it took me several days to read this book, when it should have only taken three tops. I mean, I was fairly busy at the time I was reading it, but it took me more than three days just to get through a quarter of the book! That’s how you know it’s a struggle. But I couldn’t just NOT FINISH it. A book has to be REALLY bad for me to stop reading in the middle.

The book was about a princess named Alianna, or Aly, who was the daughter of a spy and the King’s Champion, who was known as the Lioness. It bothered me that Aly’s name was so close to her mother’s, Alanna. And then she had a twin named Alan. I mean, seriously? Come up with some new names! As a person whose name is rather close to her mother’s herself, I’m just saying, it’s not very cool. Besides, I want more personality in my names when I read books, and this one was all A’s.

This book contained all sorts of oddities, like gods and pegasuses and crow-people and such. Aly got captured and was made a slave for a nice family, but then that family started having some familial issues and things happened and bing-bang-boom, Aly’s carted off as protector for the two young princesses of that family, Sarai and Dove. As far as princesses go, Dove, the younger, was way cooler than her sister. Sarai was pretty annoying, and if I were there, I probably would have slapped her and then gotten whipped for it, so it’s a good thing I wasn’t there.

Long story short, Aly made a wager with a god, who made a wager with some crows, who talked to Aly, and one of them turned into a man, who was supposed to be Aly’s best friend but the book was gravely lacking in displaying the important qualities of said friendship, and there was a battle with a bad guy and a happy reunion and a tough decision and the book was over. Totally typical fiction. Nothing special, and nothing to make me want to read the rest of the series. But then, I guess I’m a bit of a tough crowd when it comes to series. It’s got to be a pretty dang good series for me to want to finish it, and an even dang GOODER series to make me want to buy it. And this just wasn’t one of those series.

(Yes, I know “gooder” isn’t a word. Don’t worry, you don’t have to look at it anymore beacuse this post is done.)

-“We build up pretty pictures of men, when we want to be in love. We hate to have them ruined.”-

