If someone gave you a free plane ticket to anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I’ll tell you this much: I’m not flying overseas. LOST kind of destroyed that for me. No sir, no overseas flying for me.

Then again, this IS a free trip. Huh. In that case, I might consider going overseas. The castles of Ireland, the Sherlock Museum in London, and the pure Lord of the Rings splendor of New Zealand are a pretty strong draw.

But really, where I want to go is right here in my own country, which makes a few things easier. I would take that ticket all nice-like and say a friendly “Thank you” to whatever kind soul gave me such a gift, and I would pack my bags and grab my instruments and high-tail it to Nashville. Although I would have to think long and hard about whether I wanted to bring my guitar along, for though it IS Music City and I would bust a gusset for excitement if I could play in a park there, I’ve heard too many stories (in truth amounting to maybe three) of guitars getting damaged or destroyed or decapitated during flight.

To me, to explore Nashville’s beautiful music-note-spangled streets and be surrounded by so many artists of sound would be a truly fantastic experience. Plus, I know that city about as well as I can without ever having been there, and there’s a street there that has the same name as I do, which is pretty cool. And there’s the Parthenon, which would be incredible to see (and photograph). Plus I know the locations of where a lot of Anthem Lights’ videos were shot, and I would love to go see them for myself because when you take a video, you only see one angle of the scenery. If I was there, I could stand in the exact spot they stood and take a panoramic shot of the whole sight.

So there’s my answer to that: if I had a free plane ticket to anywhere in the world, I would choose Nashville.

Anywhere you want. Any TIME you want. One condition: It has to be amazing.” ~ the Eleventh Doctor, Doctor Who

