Tags

,

-“They say we only use a fraction of the brain’s true power; now, that’s when we’re awake. When we’re asleep, our mind can do almost anything. Imagine you’re designing a building. You create each aspect, but sometimes it seems like it’s creating itself, if you know what I mean.”

“Yeah. It’s like I’m discovering it.”

“Genuine inspiration, right? Now, in a dream our mind continuously does this. We create and perceive our world simultaneously, and our mind does it so well that we don’t even know it’s happening.”-

This was a really interesting movie, and I mean that. It wasn’t what I expected, but then, I don’t usually watch a movie with very many set expectations.

Inception was about a man named Dom (Dominic?) Cobb, an extractor, whose job it was to enter other people’s dreams and steal information from their subconscious minds. I suppose you could consider this something of a science fiction because it was technologically advanced, or a fantasy because of the… well… fantasies, or possibly even a futuristic film because who knows? Science might discover a way for us to control our dreams and link with the subconscious of other people someday. If that day comes, I hope I get to share dreams with someone I know, because it’s so much EASIER than actually talking. I have often fantasized about what I would show a person if I could bring them into my mind palace somehow. It’s fun to think about those things, which is why I found this movie so interesting.

Now that we’ve circumnavigated my mild deviation and returned to the subject, as a lover of intellect, I found the concept of Inception both fascinating and thoughtful. I found interest because of my own thoughts on similar possibilities, and I liked how watching this film brought me back to some old, slightly-touched-upon ideas and provoked me to think about them on a deeper level. I agree with the ideas presented in this movie regarding building dreams, how the dreams work, and how to get out of the dreams. I think the people were being chased every time they were in a dream, which makes sense, because it seems like half the dreams I have are of me (or some parallel character of me) either chasing or being chased. Falling would always wake the person from a dream, because how many of us have been falling in a dream and actually hit the bottom? Probably none of us. (Please comment if you have hit the bottom in a dream ~ I would like to know what it felt like!)

Anyway, the storyline (looping back to the original purpose of this post) was about Cobb and a group of specialized extractors and dream-builders who were trying to get information from a guy named Fischer, who supposedly couldn’t remember the combination to the safe that held his newly-dead father’s recently reconstructed will. They had to go deep into Fischer’s subconscious by tapping into his dreams, but they couldn’t let him know he was dreaming. They had to go several levels deep into his mind, then get out without getting stuck (which was “the dangerous part” that all movies have in them somewhere, or else they wouldn’t be entertaining).

“I think a positive emotion trumps a negative one every time. We all need a revelation, a catharsis.”

A “catharsis,” if you don’t know, is releasing strong emotion, or thereby purging or cleansing yourself of those emotions. In simpler, more modern terms, it’s the process of letting go. To connect that with a revelation: isn’t it great when you can’t figure out something, and then the solution just sort of hits you and you’re like, “Oh!” and it’s a huge release of tension and stress? It’s like you’ve surfaced and can finally breathe after being underwater for a long time.

Positive emotions can release you from negative emotions. Smiling and laughing can help you let go of anger, stress, and sadness. I think Arthur was right when he said this. Positivity is a great defender against negativity.

“Why do you do this to yourself?”

“It’s the only way I can still dream.”

“Why is it so important to dream?”

“In my dreams, we’re still together.”

If you’ve ever lost someone, this quote will probably stab you in the heart, and for that I’m sorry. But that’s the reason I brought it up here ~ because those of us who feel that dagger and flinch in response like to know that we’re not the only ones who feel that kind of sadness. Having someone who understands how you feel about something ~ anything, really ~ is immensely comforting. I felt that prick at my heart, and I know others will too.

But the truest bit is that in your dreams, they ARE still with you. You still do the things you did before (okay, probably not EXACTLY those things, or not those things at all ~ possibly those things, but with someone shooting at you or chasing you with surprisingly intimidating hot taco sauce). You can still feel their presence and hear their voice and see their face ~ although for some of us, people are rather blurry in dreams… the point is, you’re still together, and in the dream, you feel like your heart is complete again.

Those dreams are the saddest ones to wake up from.

“An idea is like a virus. Highly contagious. A small seed of an idea can grow. It can grow to define or destroy you.”

I’m not very good at explaining things, so hopefully I do all right with these book and movie reviews. This is kind of how ideas work, though, isn’t it? First you think of it, then you build upon it until it becomes more than a passing fancy ~ indeed, a conceivable possibility ~ a plan, in some cases. Sometimes those little ideas can become plans that change your life.

And sometimes you are given a nickname, and you simply start becoming it. You can accept it and improve yourself for the better, or you can take it the wrong way and lose who you really are.

-“You’re waiting for a train. A train that will take you far away. You know where you hope this train will take you, but you can’t know for sure, and it doesn’t matter.”

