Tags

,

-“He’s just a child.”

“No. I was just a child, and so were you. But He ~ He is not just a child.”-

I always forget, when I’m watching movies, that I could do reviews on them, which is odd because that’s always what I’m thinking about while reading books.  I realize that The Young Messiah has been out for a while now, but I have a list, okay? I have to go in order. And it takes time for movies to be uploaded onto the Internet for streaming, so I can’t just watch it as soon as it comes out, all right?

I found inaccuracy two minutes in when I heard the British accents, and when I saw the Caucasian people, but I dismissed these two things for one simple reason: There probably aren’t many Israeli and Egyptian actors out there, and I much prefer an inaccurate accent to having to read subtitles because I don’t know the languages. In all probability, Jesus was not Caucasian, but that’s how we often envision him, so completely turning the tables and putting an actual Israeli kid in there would have disconnected the audience from the story.

What I found most interesting was that Satan was portrayed as a person in this film. I didn’t even really expect him to be there at all, which was shallow thinking on my part, I suppose. Of course he would have been interested in this child with wisdom beyond his years and the ability to perform miracles. (Which was another thing I found interesting ~ hold on to that for a second.) I liked that Satan was an ordinary-looking man and not some sort of over-glorified demon like we so often imagine him to be. He wore a simple black cloak and had a nicely-trimmed beard, just like any other regular guy, as opposed to the long, flowing cape with an intimidating-looking, really-rather-impractical, overly-dramatic collar and impressively-styled beard. In fact, he looked rather gentle, which ~ I don’t know if it was planned that way ~ I thought it was quite clever.

I’m not sure I really believe that Jesus would have been performing miracles at seven years old, but I suppose he very well could have been. All one really needs is faith and God’s consent, right? And Jesus clearly had faith. Although that can also be discussed, and is something I’ll have to think on ~ could one so young have so much faith so easily? Is faith something you’re born with? Is it something you learn? Or does it require any knowledge at all? (Opinions are welcome!)

“Why did God choose me? What if I’m not strong enough?”-

Mary had a right to be concerned, and there’s no doubt in my mind that she wondered this from time to time ~ she was only human, after all. But this is something many people wonder as they live their lives. I’m sure many missionaries and evangelists were haunted by this question throughout their travels. Doubt in oneself is a very common thing for humans to deal with, which is one thing that helps us grow in our faith ~ if we have no faith in ourselves, let us have faith in God.

“Your questions are the questions of a child, but the answers are answers for a man.”-

I imagine Jesus as a quiet, inquisitive, intellectual type ~ an introvert, really (as proof ~ he did go off by himself to pray very often!) ~ and I imagine as a child he probably did ask a lot of questions! After all, he was dumbfounding the rabbis at twelve. But what would you say if your seven-year-old asked you questions that you yourself have only recently pondered? How would you be able to respond to that, especially if you have so little understanding of it yourself?

“How do you explain God to His own Son? I can’t. Can you?”-

Joseph and Mary had to teach Jesus about God. That is so funny to me. Jesus, needing instruction about Himself? The notion seems ridiculous. But it was most likely true. Jesus wasn’t born knowing everything ~ a human brain wouldn’t be able to withstand even a fraction of what God knows. Joseph and Mary were fully aware of Jesus’ identity; it must have been weirder than all heck to explain the little they probably felt they knew about God to a boy who would soon far surpass them in knowledge because he was God himself!

“I’ve learned so much since leaving Egypt. I know everything I can for today. I even know I’m going to die. I used to wonder if angels would come and sing to me, if they would fill my dreams. There is still so much that I don’t know, but I do know this: I don’t think I’m here to see angels, or to hear heaven sing. And I don’t think I’m here to make it rainy or sunny or anything like that. I think I’m here just to be alive. To see it. Hear it. Feel it. All of it. Even when it hurts. Someday You will tell me why else I’m here. I don’t know when, but You will. I know that because, Father, I am Your Child.”-

Originally I was thinking it must have been really weird for Jesus, knowing that he was going to die. He’d heard the Scriptures; he’d heard the prophecies from Isaiah and the other prophets about the Messiah and what he would have to go through. But now that I think about it, all of us know we’re going to die, one way or another (unless Jesus comes back before then!). I love this quote, though, because Jesus really was here just to be alive, from a certain point of view. He came so he could see, hear, feel, and experience everything in order to understand what we’re going through and serve as the mediator between us and God. And sure, he could change the weather or perform miracles, but that wasn’t the point of him coming. He came to be human, to live like we do, and then to die for our sins. I like the idea that he didn’t always know everything, though. I like that he was a child and he grew and learned just like the rest of us. Born of an ordinary girl and a lowly carpenter, and look at him now ~ a king.

“Let us keep him, please, for as long as You will.”-

 

